news / Video Games

Preview of what’s to come at E3 2016

E3 2016 is upon video-game fans across the world, but companies are throwing a couple curveballs this year.

Electronic Arts, the big developer behind “Mass Effect” and popular sports titles “Madden” and “FIFA,” is deciding to separate itself from the expo. It was a head-scratcher at first, but EA believes they may be ahead of the curve.

Gaming journalists are predicting E3 will fall flat and think it’s time for an overhaul in light of the competition (Gamescom, PAX East). There’s an element of excitement that surrounded E3 for many years, but it’s slowly dwindling. Social media and leaks are spoiling the major reveals, which begs fans to ask, “Why dedicate my time to these pressers?”

EA’s two-day Play conference begins June 12, 1 p.m. PT (4 p.m. EST) and can be streamed online.

The slow decline of E3 isn’t stopping bigger companies, like Sony and Microsoft, from showcasing surprises they’ve tried keeping hush-hush for months. Rumors have been swirling for months about major upgrades for the PS4 and Xbox One, while Nintendo is expected to announce a new console.

Here are the days and times for each major conference:

Bethesda: Sunday, June 12, 7 p.m. PT (10 p.m. EST) Stream

Microsoft: Monday, June 13, 9:30 a.m. PT (12:30 p.m. EST) Stream

Sony: Monday, June 13, 6 p.m. PT (9 p.m. EST) Stream

Ubisoft: Monday, June 13, 1 p.m. PT (4 p.m. EST) Stream

Nintendo: Tuesday, June 14, 9 a.m. PT (noon EST) Stream

Expect reaction articles and (maybe?!) a cool podcast this E3 season.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s